top of page

Home Tour with @reserve_home


We had the pleasure to give Mallory Fletchall's Brooklyn apartment a spring refresh for Urban Outfitters. We've always loved her beautiful Instagram account, so it was great being able to ask her a bunch of questions and find out more!

Q: Tell us a little bit about yourself and your space:

A: My name is Mallory Fletchall, and I’m the woman behind the Instagram account @reserve_home. I run an online shop specializing in found vintage Moroccan textiles, and I document our ever-evolving style at home via my IG page and blog (www.reserve-home.com).

My boyfriend, David, and I relocated from Kansas City, Missouri to NYC almost three years ago, and we live in a one bedroom apartment in my favorite Brooklyn neighborhood, Greenpoint.

Q: How would you describe your design aesthetic?

A: My style tends to shift faster than I can keep up, but I would describe it as eclectic meets Mid Century modern meets California cool (in New York, of course). I’m drawn to natural materials like wood, jute, and wool, and I love designing our spaces with a soft color palette in mind.

Q: What are some must have items you need in your place for a good refresh?

A: Houseplants and throw pillows! You can totally change the mood of a room just by tossing in a new color scheme through pillows and throws. I’ve also been known to redesign an entire room around a single new houseplant - haha.

Q: Favorite part about your home?

A: My absolute favorite thing about our home is the architectural details. When we first walked into the space and saw the wall moldings, original wood flooring and tall ceilings, I was SOLD. It was the first and only apartment we saw. I really believe that these details have made every piece of furniture, plant, and textile piece stand out that much more.

Q: Favorite place to spend time (in your home)?

A: Our living room, hands down. It’s where we entertain, where I have movie nights (we’re big-time movie and tv nerds) and many times where I work from. It’s also where most of our plants live, so it feels like an oasis to me.

Q: Tell us about your plants—any favorites? What’s the next one on your wishlist?

A: Anytime anyone asks what one thing they can do to elevate the style in their home, my first answer is always plants! ALL the plants. In all seriousness though, we love our houseplants and actually get upset anytime they aren’t doing well. As far as favorites go, our Ficus Audrey Tree is my absolute favorite. Next on the wishlist is a Chinese Fan Palm, since we accidentally killed our last one. RIP.

Q: What have been some of the biggest challenges you’ve had to overcome living in NYC?

A: I’m lucky enough to work from home, so many of the challenges my boyfriend faces (the dreaded commute), are not ones that I have to deal with on a daily basis. I will say that everything takes more time and energy to accomplish here, so I’ve found that everyone is always “busy” or “exhausted” - including us! While to some it may seem crazy, bringing our car with us to NYC has made some of the probable challenges much easier. For instance, figuring out how to get a plant home from a nursery, finding a way to the beach in the middle of summer, etc..

Q: One thing you can’t live without?

A: Plants and/or fresh or good faux flowers around. This year made me realize how much my mood is elevated when we have that extra bit of color in our home. Oh, and if I’m being real honest here, my Roku remote.

Q: Dream home-what would it be like?

A: My dream home would be a historic brownstone or carriage house in Brooklyn, with herringbone wood floors and moldings all over the place, but with a big splash of modern in the form of a giant floor-to-ceiling window at the back of the house looking out into the yard. I see this detail all the time in Australian architecture, and my dream would be to have this feature in our home one day!

Q: This space is so amazing, do you ever even leave?

A: Not often! Haha. Since I work from home, and part of my job is sharing our home, I end up spending a ton of time here! It’s one of the reasons I’m so into reimagining the space. It helps keep me inspired (and sane).

Q: What are you looking forward to doing in the future? Can our reader expect to see any new projects from you soon?

A: I’m hoping to launch a few new products in my shop that I’ve designed along with a few friends! Up until now, I’ve only sold vintage or imported goods, so I’m really excited to stretch my creative muscle and become a designer.

Q: What’s your current life mission—The thought or phrase that is inspiring you right now?

A: Something I constantly remind myself and others close to me, “Comparison is the thief of joy” - Theodore Roosevelt. Instead of comparing myself to others, especially in the same field, I like to think of the others as expanders, because they help expand what I believe is possible for myself. For instance, when I look at an account that is growing incredibly fast or just created beautiful content, I focus on letting it light a fire inside of me to push myself harder, instead of allowing envy and self-doubt to take over. This is my life mission right now, to stay in this mindset and let myself grow authentically.

Q: If your life was a song, what song would it be?

A: My answer to this would probably change on the daily depending on my mood. So for now, I’ll say the song, “Queen” by Perfume Genius, only because I’ve been listening to it so often I feel like I’m in danger of actually turning into it!

Q: Give us 3 of your favorite instagram accounts.

A: It’s impossible to choose just 3! How about I break it into categories?

For decor and interiors I love, @sarashermansamuel @popandscott @carlaypage, but I watch the stories of @jengotch @designlovefest @freeandnative @mrorlandosoria and @busyphilipps religiously!

There you have it folks! Go follow @reserve_home to see what Mallory and David are up to and how their beautiful apartment is ever evolving!

*All large pieces of furniture (couches, coffee table, bench, side tables, plant stand, rugs, etc.) were thrifted throughout the years by Mallory and David. Also, all pieces of art are one-of-a-kinds made by David.

*The home accessories photographed including: (most of the) throw pillows, flower vases, candles, floor pillows, pink throw blanket, pink planter, pink and blue planter, mask mirror, sage, ash tray, watering can, and "Everyone is Welcome Here" pillow is from Urban Outfitters. Here is a link to their online UO Home Shop.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page